Day 1 ~ Every Journey Begins with a Single Step

1 Jan

No matter the date, Today is the first day of the rest of your life. 

“It isn’t the experience of TODAY that drives men mad…it’s the remorse of what happened Yesterday, and the Fear of what Tomorrow might bring.”

Roger Jones Burdette, “The Golden Day”

Last year, I wrote a book I never planned to publish.  It’s a Gratitude Journal, and actually, it’s one of many in a series. ..

Year after year, I count my blessings, via pen and paper in an old fashioned journal filled with blank pages.  I begin on the first day of the year, and embrace the dawn of Jan 1 with anticipation, excitement and abundant gratitude for all that I know is in store, and for the blessings of yesterday, which have perfectly and divinely prepared me for where I am TODAY.

(It’s like, a daily “Thank You” note to God…)

By the end of every year, I have consciously acknowledged 1,825 reasons to celebrate Life ~and every year, I am more grateful to be alive than I was the year before.  From my children, to my work, from vacations, to blessings disguised as obstacles, it’s all there–some days it’s easier than other days, and some days, there are too many blessings for me to count without getting writers cramp.   The entire experience, in and of itself, is a GIFT!

This year, I invite you to join me.  Whether in a blog, or within the sacred pages of a private journal, give yourself the gift of JOY this year~

Count your blessings!

What are you grateful for today?

Feel the shift, open your heart, embrace Joy… just because you can!

~

I am grateful~

1.  To be moving into a new year, rich with possibility.

2. For an early morning bike ride to the park with my 7 year old Sprout guy–for the feeling of his little hands on my back as he pushed me on the swings.

3. To not understand–there are some things I’d just rather not wrap my tender heart around.   Sometimes, the only logical explanation, is that there simply is no logical explanation.

4. For dreams–AKA: Gentle reminders of what’s possible.

5. For Simple Peanut Butter Cookies:

1 Cup Peanut Butter, 1 Cup Sugar, 1 tsp Vanilla, 1 Egg.

Mix well.

Roll into 1 inch balls, and place 2 inches apart on ungreased cookie sheet.

Gently flatten peanut butter balls with a fork to form a cookie.

Bake for 12-15 minutes.

Whole-heartedly EnJoy.

~

What are you grateful for Today?

Count your blessings ~ And, HAPPY NEW YEAR!

 

 

 

2 Responses to “Day 1 ~ Every Journey Begins with a Single Step”

  1. Alyssa January 1, 2012 at 6:33 pm #

    I am grateful that I am here. That I have lived to see 2012 after an almost catastrophic attack on my life in November 2011.
    I am grateful for the day that I had, for the quiet peace I found in my home as I lay on my bed with my dog, reading a great book.

  2. Elli Morrison Scrivner January 2, 2012 at 4:42 am #

    Oh, Elle! Somehow I’d lost track of my 5 blessings a day. I’m going to add this to my 366 photo project this year!

Leave a Reply

