Day 3 ~ From Rain Comes Flowers

4 Jan

There’s been an open space in my life since Nana left us just over a year ago.  A void that simply cannot be filled, and an irreplaceable familiarity that aches no matter how much time passes.  Without her, life just isn’t the same.

I miss her every day.

We used to grocery shop together on Fridays.  Now, when I’m at the market, I find myself striking up conversation with elderly folks I come across in the isles, almost desperate for the connection to the wisdom and energy of a warm and knowing soul…

Delores is 87 years old.  I met her earlier this afternoon on isle 3, and by isle 11, I knew all about her children, her 21 grandchildren, and the husband who had once been the comedian in the family, but who now lived in a home for Alzheimer patients.

She even shared her age old family recipe for perfect apple cobbler…

She said, “I haven’t had someone to shop with in a very long time–what fun this was!  I hope I see you here again someday.”

Yes, someday–that would be nice.

BUT, even if someday never comes, our time together today was pretty spectacular…

A true gift for the both of us.

~
I am grateful for–

1. Delores–I made a wish, and all 80 lbs. of her came true.

2. The ability to Love and Be Loved–it sounds so simple, but there was a time in my life when I would never have opened myself up to the heart of a stranger that way.

3. Elli’s Blessings Blog:

http://scrivnerburg365.blogspot.com/2012/01/january-3-2012.html

And all others who are joining me on this 365 day journey into the heart of a grateful and abundant life!

Thank you for sharing your blessings and light~

4. To know with complete certainly that it’s all happening FOR us…not to us.

5. Unity.  Alone, we shine, no doubt–but together, we really do illuminate the possibilities.

~
What are you grateful for today?

Invite JOY into your life ~ Count your blessings!

Leave a Reply

